Why I actually like Valentine’s Day…

I’m sure you’re all thinking “of course she likes Valentine’s Day. She’s got a boyfriend!” but the truth is, I’ve never been a girl against Valentine’s Day, and I’ve been single for maaannyy of them. I even experienced a break up ON Vday one year. Sure, that wasn’t an especially fun year, but it didn’t ruin February 14th for me forever.

You all know how I feel about Christmas (hint: not too positively).  In general, I’m not really a person who’s “into” holidays.  They seem rather silly to me, and I never know what I’m celebrating, or why I’m supposed to be buying presents, or whatever else it is that we feel the need to do.

But I can get on board with holidays that have a clear reason to me for why we are celebrating. Mother’s Day? Sweet. Father’s Day? Legit. Birthdays? All for them.  Valentine’s Day? Why the heck not!?

I don’t know, guys. I guess you could just say that I love people and I love telling people that I love them. Whether it be a celebration for the day they were born, or a random Hallmark-created version of  a holiday.. I’m all for it.

For me, Vday isn’t necessarily about being in a relationship, or feeling sad and single, or whatever it is we like to say it’s about. It’s about celebrating our love for those around us who make every day a little bit brighter.

Like, yeah, I guess it’s sort of silly to “confine” our love/ appreciation for these special people into one day, but I see it more as taking an extra little day to make sure they know how special they are.  And I’m not saying you should buy into all of the Hallmark stuff or tradition stuff or consumerism stuff to do it, but I do enjoy the day in general.

This Valentine’s day unfortunately I will be 500mi away from my beau, but thinking extra hard about his adorable face and kind words.  He is a great man to me, and I appreciate him so much. I love you, bear.

To all my other friends and family out there– I love you too! Happy Valentine’s Day! I hope you are happy, healthy, and taking this day to think about the people in your life whom you love, whether it be in a romantic way or not.

I know that I am thinking of everyone close to me who I love and appreciating all the love they have given me in return.

3 thoughts on “Why I actually like Valentine’s Day…

Leave a Reply

